Titanic Memorial Lighthouse, South Street Seaport, May 2008
The Titanic Memorial Lighthouse stands 60 ft. tall at the entrance of the
South Street Seaport on Fulton and Pearl Streets in Manhattan. Everyday
thousands of people pass the light that stands as a tribute to the people who
died on the SS Titanic on April 15, 1912.
The Memorial Light was originally atop the old Seaman's Church Institute
located at the corner of South St and Coenties Slip and had a time ball attached
to its pole. This time mechanism would drop at noon, alerting all the ships in
the harbor of the time and people on the streets would set their watches to the
drop of the ball. It was synchronized via a telegraphic signal from the National
Observatory in Washington DC.
The Lighthouse served proudly from 1915 to 1967. In 1968, it was removed
from the old Seaman's Institute and donated to the Seaport. The Titanic Memorial
Lighthouse has been a proud fixture at the Seaport since 1976 and the museum is
currently raising funds to restore the light to its former beauty