St. Martin-le-Grand Church


St. Martin-le-Grand Church, Coney St

One of the most beautiful churches in the city, according to The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland, 1868.

With its impressive double-sided clock, topped by the 18th century ‘Little Admiral’, St Martin-le-Grand has one of York’s most distinctive and charming facades. But what you see now is a mere fragment of the medieval original.

St Martin’s is now a haven of calm in the heart of York, but in 1942 it was reduced to a smouldering ruin during a bombing raid on the city. The church stood desolate until restoration work began in 1961.

The south aisle became the nave and a new north wall was built with a 5-sided tower to frame the large 15th century St Martin window, which had been removed for safety in 1940 before the raid.

The north side of the church became an enclosed garden, and in 1968 the building was re-consecrated as a ‘shrine of remembrance for all men who died in the two world wars.’

The church has Norman origins, being founded in the late 11th century; there are still remnants of masonry from that period. However it was extensively rebuilt in the 15th century, when it was at the heart of the thriving business sector of medieval York.

Photo 757, May 2011


St Martin-le-Grand Church, the tower

Photo 759, May 2011


St Martin-le-Grand Church

Photo 761, May 2011


Other Photos

Aircraft
Animals
Boats

Bridges
Lighthouses
Monuments

Rail
Public Home