Church of St Saviour
The Church of St Saviour has stood on this site since
the 11th century. The present building dates from the 15th
century, although some earlier stonework survives.
By 1901, the parish had declined and the church
bordered on one of the main slum districts of the city. St
Saviour's was eventually declared redundant in 1954, and the
medieval glass and church fitments were dispersed.
In 1975, the building was acquired by York
Archaeological Trust. At first it was used for the storage of
finds, and then, in 1990, York Archaeological Trust set up
the Archaeological Resource Centre (ARC) to complement its
existing York attraction, Jorvik Viking Centre. Over the
following decade, thousands of people visited the ARC, and
now DIG has opened its doors so that visitors can continue
to explore the history of York.
Photo 828, May 2011