J. P. Cunningham Cabin
The Cunningham Cabin stands as one of the valley’s few remaining
structures from the homesteading era when settlers filed nearly 400
claims in Jackson Hole. In the 1880s, John and Margaret Cunningham
staked a claim for the Bar Flying U Ranch. Cunningham built his cabin
in 1888 in the Appalachian style, commonly called “double-pen” or
“dog-trot.” John lived in the cabin until 1895 when he finished his
main residence, and it later became a smithy and barn.
Photo 603, Sept 2007
|
|
|