Futarasan Shrine
Futarasan Shrine has been the center of mountain worship since
ancient period. A priest Shoto constructed Shihonryuji Temple on the
north side of the Daiya River in 766 and constructed Hongu Shrine
(Main shrine) then. This was the beginning of Futarasan Shrine. The
Futarasan Shrine had been respected as the best shrine of Tochigi
prefecture since early times, and worshiped by shogunate and powerful
clan as the guardian of Kanto region. Tokugawa shogunate constructed
more shrines and contributed sacred territory when Toshogu Shrine was
built in 1617 to express respect for the Futarasan shrine.
Futarasan Shrine was founded in 782 by Shodo Shonin, the Buddhist
monk who introduced Buddhism to Nikko and who also founded Rinnoji.
Futarasan Shrine is dedicated to the kami ("Shinto gods") of
Nikko's three most sacred mountains Mt. Nantai, Mt. Nyoho and Mt.
Taro. Two more Futarasan Shrines stand at the shore of Lake Chuzenji
and on the summit of Mount Nantai.
When visiting Futarasan Shrine, it is recommended to purchase a
combination ticket which also includes admission to the Toshogu, the
Rinnoji's Sanbutsudo and Iemitsu's mausoleum.
Futarasan Shrine stands about 200 meters west of Toshogu, a 20-30
minute walk or 10 minute bus ride (300 Yen one way, 500 Yen day pass)
from the Tobu and JR Nikko Stations.
Photo 49, 1987