Lighthouse Building
743 Camp St.
This lighthouse was added to the existing structure in 1924 by
the Lighthouse For The Blind as a thematic symbol, and served as their
headquarters until 1948, when the group moved to another location.
Since that time, the building has served various businesses, and
presently houses the Lighthouse Glass art gallery.
The lighthouse building was modeled loosely after the well-known
Milneburg lighthouse built in the 1830s and also known as the Port
Pontchartrain Lighthouse.
Photo 40, Nov 2018