St. George's Anglican Church, 2010
The church is officially located at 1101 Stanley Street on the corner of De la
Gauchetière Street, although it also faces Peel Street and is opposite Place du
Canada.
St. George's, an example of Gothic Revival architecture, was designed by
English architect William Tutin Thomas, was constructed in 1869 and completed in
1870. The exterior was constructed in carved sandstone with stained glass
windows, and the interior is devoid of any pillars, and features traditional
English woodwork inside the chapel. The church is also notable for its ceiling
beams, which are among the largest in the world. The tapestry originates from
Westminster Abbey in London where it was utilized during the coronation of Queen
Elizabeth II.
The church is named for Saint George, the patron saint of England. St.
George's Anglican Church was recognized as a National Historic Sites of Canada
in 1990.