Frauenkirche
The Frauenkirche (full name Dom zu unserer lieben Frau, "Cathedral of Our
Dear Lady") is the cathedral of the Archbishop of Munich and Freising. It is a
landmark and is considered a symbol of the Bavarian State Capital.
The church towers are widely visible because of local height limits. The
city administration prohibits buildings with a height exceeding 358
ft in the city center—within the middle ring. Since November 2004, this
prohibition has been provisionally extended outside the ring. As a result, no
buildings may be built in the city over the aforementioned height. The south
tower can be climbed and offers a unique view of Munich and the nearby Alps.
The cathedral, which replaced an older romanesque church built in the 12th
century, was commissioned by Duke Sigismund and erected by Jörg von Halsbach.
For financial reasons and due to the lack of a nearby stone pit, brick was
chosen as building material. Construction began in 1468. Since the cash
resources were exhausted in 1479 Pope Sixtus IV granted an indulgence. The two
towers were completed in 1488 and the church was consecrated in 1494. However,
the building's famous domes atop each tower were not built until 1525. Their
design was modelled on the Dome of the Rock in Jerusalem, which in turn took a
lead from late Byzantine architecture. The cathedral suffered severe damage
during World War II — the roof collapsed and one of the towers suffered severe
damage. A major restoration was started after the war and was completed in
several stages, the last in 1994.
The Late Gothic brick building with round chapel wreath is 358
ft long, 130 ft wide, and 121 ft high. Contrary to a
widespread legend that says the two towers with their characteristic hood are
exactly one meter different in height, they are almost equal: the north tower is
4.7 in higher. The original design called for
pointed spires to top the towers, much like Cologne Cathedral, but those were
never built because of lack of money. Instead, the two domes were built during
the Renaissance, and are mismatched stylistically with the rest of the building.
But this way they have become a distinctive landmark of Munich.
Photo 14, 1985