King's Chapel is "an independent Christian unitarian congregation
affiliated with the Unitarian Universalist Association" that is "unitarian
Christian in theology, Anglican in worship, and congregational in
governance." It is housed in what was formerly called "Stone Chapel", an 18th
century structure at the corner of Tremont Street and School Street in Boston,
Massachusetts.
King's Chapel was founded by Royal Governor Sir Edmund Andros in 1686 as
the first Anglican Church in New England during the reign of King James II. The
original King's Chapel was a wooden church built in 1688 at the corner of
Tremont and School Streets, where the church stands today. It was situated on
the public burying ground because no resident would sell land for a non-Puritan
church.
In 1749, construction began on the current stone structure, which was
designed by Peter Harrison and completed in 1754. The stone church was built
around the wooden church. When the stone church was complete, the wooden church
was disassembled and removed through the windows of the new church. The wood was
then shipped to Lunenburg, Nova Scotia where it was used to construct St. John's
Anglican Church. That church was destroyed by fire on Halloween night, 2001. It
has since been rebuilt.