Emmanuel Church on Newbury Street
with Leslie Chapel
Emmanuel Church was founded in 1860 as part of the Diocese of
Massachusetts, and its cornerstone was laid on June 17th, 1861. Emmanuel's Main
Sanctuary was the first building on Newbury Street in Boston's newly filled Back
Bay. In 1898-9, the Main Sanctuary was expanded from 800 to 1200 seats and
reoriented to its present east-west axis.
The Leslie Lindsey Memorial Chapel, consecrated in 1924, is considered one
of the architectural gems of Boston.
Emmanuel's major stained-glass window portrays a scene from John Bunyan's The
Pilgrim's Progress, which has given the window its name, "Emmanuel's Land".
Located on the north wall of Emmanuel's sanctuary, opposite the doors leading to
Newbury Street, it was rededicated in January 2008, thanks to many donors.
Photo eman2, July 2001